{Review} The Witches of Cambridge by Menna Van Praag

{Review} The Witches of Cambridge by Menna Van PraagThe Witches of Cambridge by Menna Van Praag
Published by Ballantine Books on February 9, 2016
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Romance
Pages: 306
Goodreads  Buy the Book

For fans of Alice Hoffman, Sarah Addison Allen, and Adriana Trigiani, The Witches of Cambridge reveals an astonishing world where the heart's deepest secrets give way to the magic of life-changing love.

"Be careful what you wish for. If you're a witch, you might just get it."

Amandine Bisset has always had the power to feel the emotions of those around her. It's a secret she can share only with her friends all professors, all witches when they gather for the Cambridge University Society of Literature and Witchcraft. Amandine treasures these meetings but lately senses the ties among her colleagues beginning to unravel. If only she had her student Noa's power to hear the innermost thoughts of others, she might know how to patch things up. Unfortunately, Noa regards her gift as a curse. So when a seductive artist claims he can cure her, Noa jumps at the chance, no matter the cost.

Noa's not the only witch in over her head. Mathematics professor Kat has a serious case of unrequited love but refuses to cast spells to win anyone's heart. Her sister, Cosima, is not above using magic to get what she wants, sprinkling pastries in her bakery with equal parts sugar and enchantment. But when Cosima sets her sights on Kat's crush, she conjures up a dangerous love triangle.

As romance and longing swirl through every picturesque side street, The Witches of Cambridge find their lives unexpectedly upended and changed in ways sometimes extraordinary, sometimes heartbreaking, but always enchanting.

Katie: Set in beautiful Cambridge, six witches’ lives are entwined with friendship, love, and heartache.

The Witches of Cambridge opens with Professor Amandine Bisset in turmoil over whether or not her husband may be having an affair. Amandine has the gift of seeing what people are feeling but not why they feel the way they do, which is why she has her suspicions about Eliot.

She meets Noa, a young student, that has a gift of seeing and speaking the truth whether she wants to or not. Amandine thinks that Noa may be able to help her know the truth. But Noa sees her gift as a curse and is reluctant to let anyone get to close.

Then we have Kat. Department head of applied mathematics and she is gifted with seeing everything in numbers. Kat suffers from unrequited love, and though she could easily whip up a spell to fix this issue, she refuses to use spells to make someone fall in love.

But her sister, Cosima, isn’t afraid to use her magic to get what she wants. Cosima is the owner of a darling bakery that keeps customers coming back for her enchanted goodies. Cosima suffers heartache and heartbreak, but she is determined not to let it rule her life. Concocting a plan to get her hearts biggest desire, Cosima magics up something that she may not be able to undo.

I think Heloise may have been my favorite of all of the witches. She is Amandine’s psychic, widowed mother and she is still suffering from the loss of her beloved husband. Heloise spends her days holding on to the past, too fearful of letting go of what once brought her the greatest joy.

But once Heloise takes the first step, her vivacity and hope shine through and you can’t help but root for her to find herself again.

This book brought on laughter and tears. It will tug at your emotions from early on, and it won’t let up until the very end.

The only thing I disliked was the actions of Cosima at one point. Her way of thinking seemed unrealistic at that point, and it just didn’t make much sense to me.

I would recommend this book for lovers of Chick Lit, Magical Realism, and second chances.

Katie

Katie

Reviewer at Pretty Sassy Cool
Bibliophile for life.
Married to a swoony boy of my own 🙂
Mom to two amazing boys.
Katie

Latest posts by Katie (see all)

    Report Card
    Cover
    Characters
    Plot
    Writing
    Steam
    Overall: 3.5

    Check Also

    {Review} Temporary by Sarina Bowen and Sarah Mayberry

    Temporary by Sarina Bowen and Sarah Mayberry is a everything a great romance should be.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    CommentLuv badge