{Review} One of These Nights by Kendra Leigh Castle

{Review} One of These Nights by Kendra Leigh CastleOne of These Nights by Kendra Leigh Castle
Also by this author: A Little More Love
Series: Harvest Cove #3
Also in this series: A Little More Love
Published by Signet on September 1, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Enemies to Lovers
Character(s): Heroes in Uniform
Pages: 352
Goodreads  Buy the Book

From the author of Every Little Kiss, a heartwarming novel that proves sometimes the only way to let people in is to let go...

Moving to Harvest Cove has been like a dream come true for Zoe Watson, providing her with a job she loves and close friends she considers practically family. The only problem: a certain prickly—albeit handsome—park ranger who can’t seem to help tracking mud into her art gallery…or showing up in her dreams.

Jason Evans swore off relationships the day his ex-wife walked out the door, and the local gallery owner is no exception. But when an accident forces him to accept the one thing he hates most in the world—help—he discovers that with Zoe in his life, there are more highs than lows. Despite their long-simmering attraction, neither Jason nor Zoe thinks that two people with so little in common could possibly have a future together. But one of these nights, they may just discover how alike they are.…

Kassiah: I haven’t read the other books in the Harvest Cove series yet, so I didn’t have a preconceived notion of Jason and Zoe when I got in to One of These Nights. I do love fake girlfriend/boyfriend/fiancé trope, so I was excited to read this one. Add to that this this is a hate-to-love story, and I was pretty much hooked.

Park ranger Jason recently broke his leg and needs help getting around and doing some things. When his mother says she’s going to come take care of him, Jason says he has a girlfriend: sassy Zoe, owner of the town art studio. Jason doesn’t want a real relationship since his ex-wife broke his heart, and Zoe is very antagonizing.

I hated Jason’s mom, Molly, and felt like it was unrealistic for Jason to allow her to be so overbearing. I say that knowing that even though I’m old now, I still do whatever my mom tells me to do. So maybe it wasn’t so unrealistic after all *cries*

Jason and Zoe really push each other’s buttons, but of course you know it isn’t long before they figure out how they really feel. I had a bit of trouble buying in to the authenticity of their feelings–they seriously argue all the time! I wonder if they hadn’t been “forced” into the situation if they’d have actually ended up together. Put aside their arguing, and they do have good chemistry. I did like the other characters, and I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the books in this series.

One of These Nights has a great small-town feel and is perfect for fans of Jill Shalvis and Shannon Stacey. I could totally see Jason hanging out with Jax and the guys from Lucky Harbor. If you enjoy a sassy heroine and great banter, I think you’ll like this story.

Kassiah

Co-Founder/Joint Editor-In-Chief at Pretty Sassy Cool
This is my bio. It will be updated whenever Meg writes one for me.
Report Card
Cover
Characters
Plot
Writing
Steam
Overall: 3

Check Also

{Review} Temporary by Sarina Bowen and Sarah Mayberry

Temporary by Sarina Bowen and Sarah Mayberry is a everything a great romance should be.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge