{Review} Never Tear Us Apart by Monica Murphy

{Review} Never Tear Us Apart by Monica MurphyNever Tear Us Apart by Monica Murphy
Series: Never Tear Us Apart #1
Published by Bantam Books on January 5, 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dark Romance, Forbidden Love, New Adult, Sobfest
Character(s): Reclusive Heroes
Pages: 416
Goodreads  Buy the Book

Perfect for readers of Colleen Hoover, Jay Crownover, and K. A. Tucker, the first novel in this darkly sexy contemporary series from bestselling author Monica Murphy kicks off an emotionally powerful two-part tale of forbidden love.

A long time ago, when I was fifteen and a completely different person, I saved a girl’s life. I spent only a handful of hours with her, but somehow, we connected—and I’ve never been the same. No one understands what we went through. No one knows what it’s like to be us. We survived, yet I don’t feel like I’m really living—until now. Eight years later, I find her. I want to make her mine. I need to make her mine. But she’ll hate me forever when she finds out who I really am.

Kassiah: Eight years ago, twelve-year-old Katie Watts was abducted and suffered brutally at the hands of a serial killer, only to be rescued by his fifteen year old son, Will. Unable to go out into crowds, constantly living in fear, and never having experienced even innocent touches with a man, Katie is still dealing with the aftermath of the attack. Seeking some kind of ability to move on, Katie finally agrees to do a TV interview, which is seen by Will, who has changed his identity and has a new life. When Will (now known as Ethan) sees Katie on the TV, he can’t get her out of his mind. When he finds her after her interview, Katie doesn’t recognize the man she once called her guardian angel, her hero. They share a connection that transcends reason. Will they have a shot when Katie finds out who Ethan really is?

OMG. What can I even say about this book? It’s…riveting. It’s like a movie. I don’t want to give away more than I already have about the storyline, but I will point out what I loved about this book and what didn’t work for me.

I loved the realistic way everything was portrayed. Katie’s feelings, her parents’ reactions, how every facet of her life has been affected–and still continues to be that way even eight years later. The most horrifying aspect of this story was also the most realistic. Everything Katie and her parents do leading up to her abduction is stuff that I have said and done either with my mother or with my own children. How many times have my kids asked to go to the bathroom by themselves? Reading this book made me want to go to my 20-year-old’s apartment and insist that he come home so I could just…keep my eyes on him all the time. And he’s 6’3″. Don’t even get me started on my 16 year-old daughter.

Will/Ethan was amazing. He was the silent victim in this story. Terrorized by his father all of his life, Will completely turned his life upside down when he rescued Katie from him. I loved the way Murphy portrayed him as a flawed character. I found myself completely mesmerized, trying to figure out if his obsession was fate bringing them together or something more sinister.

You found me. I knew you would.

She wants to be found, but only by me. That’s the recurring theme in my dreams. She trusts no one, wants no one but…

Me.

The way this story plays out was very interesting. It’s told in first person POV, which is my favorite, from both Katie and Will’s points of view. In the past and present day. So, it’s almost like getting four points of view, which seems like it would be confusing, but it’s not. It’s amazing.

So what didn’t I like? First of all, the cliff-hanger ending. I knew this was a series, but I really didn’t think that it was going to end like it did. If you don’t like evil cliffhangers, then maybe wait until the next book is out to read this. Because it will make you want to throw things.

Probably the thing I was most surprised about was that Katie didn’t recognize Will. At all. Even when she was drawing comparisons between the two of them. That was pretty far-fetched to me. I also didn’t love the back-and-forth with Ethan. He was so hot-and-cold. And there were too many times of him committing to be all-in with her. But considering what he went through, I guess I shouldn’t fault him too much for it. Still, I didn’t like that.

If you’re looking for a dark, riveting story that will have you unable to put it down until you turn the last page, definitely check out Never Tear Us Apart by Monica Murphy. You’ll never be the same.

Kassiah

Co-Founder/Joint Editor-In-Chief at Pretty Sassy Cool
This is my bio. It will be updated whenever Meg writes one for me.
Report Card
Cover
Characters
Plot
Writing
Steam
Overall: 4.5

Check Also

Goodbye Paradise Sarina Bowen

{Review} Goodbye Paradise by Sarina Bowen

Sarina Bowen has a way of balancing sexy and sweet that's unlike anyone else and the overall story in Goodbye Paradise kept us hooked all the way through.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge