{Review} Good Boy by Sarina Bowen

{Review} Good Boy by Sarina BowenGood Boy by Elle Kennedy, Sarina Bowen
Also by this author: Him, Us, Addicted, One Night of Sin, The Fifteenth Minute, Rookie Move, Goodbye Paradise
Series: WAGs #1
Published by Self-Published on January 31, 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Falling for Best Friend's Sibling, One Night to More, Opposites Attract
Character(s): Hockey Players
Pages: 269
Goodreads  Buy the Book

Hosting her brother’s wedding for an MVP guest list is the challenge of Jess Canning’s life. Already the family screw-up, she can’t afford to fail. And nobody (nobody!) can learn of the colossal mistake she made with the best man during a weak moment last spring. It was wrong, and there will not be a repeat. Absolutely not. Even if he is the sexiest thing on two legs.

Blake Riley sees the wedding as fate’s gift to him. Jess is the maid of honor and he’s the best man? Let the games begin. So what if he’s facing a little (fine, a lot) of resistance? He just needs to convince the stubborn blonde that he’s really a good boy with a bad rap. Luckily, every professional hockey player knows that you’ve got to make an effort if you want to score.

But Jess has more pressing issues to deal with than sexy-times with a giant man-child. Such as: Will the ceremony start on time, even though someone got grandma drunk? Does glitter ever belong at a wedding? And is it wrong to murder the best man?

Caution: May cause accidental aspiration of tea or coffee. Do not read in a public place where loud laughter is inappropriate. Contains hot but hilarious hockey players, puppy cuddling and a snarky pair of underwear.

Erin: As the first book in the spin-off series, WAGs, Good Boy was all I’d hoped it would be. I have to be honest, I wasn’t totally on board with this. HIM and US are two of my most favorite books ever, and even though I was really looking froward to Blake’s story, I wasn’t convinced this would be for me. You see, Jamie and Wes (the guys from the HIM series) are just … well, Jamie and Wes and I was a bit leery of how things would go once WAGS started. Luckily for those of us who love and adore Jamie and Wes, we get enough of a glimpse of them to make us happy, but I’m also here to tell you that really, despite my hesitance, I LOVE Blake!

We begin with THE WEDDING. Jamie and Wes are tying the knot and Jess, Jamie’s sister, is in charge. She wants it to be perfect, for her brother and their family and friends, and is stressed to the max that she won’t be able to pull it off. She’s kind of a mess, always flitting from one thing to the next and is hoping to have the perfect wedding to show everyone that she’s capable of following through, even if party planning isn’t what she really wants to do with her life any longer. And when her prior hook-up Blake shows up, well, she’s even more stressed. Not that their one night together wasn’t beyond fabulous, because she still shivers thinking about the sex, but Blake is annoying and ridiculous and she wants no part of him. Until she does. When she winds up in Toronto pursing her dream of being a nurse, it doesn’t take long before her and Blake are crossing paths, and more.

You know when you read a book by the powerhouse duo of Elle Kennedy and Sarina Bowen you’re likely to laugh until it hurts and that’s certainly the case with Good Boy. Blake is just SUCH a character! He’s endearing and sweet and bumbling and goofy but oh man, he’s a big ole’ teddy bear too, with a surprisingly sweet and deep side. It was great fun being inside his head and seeing things from his perspective. He loves to play hockey, he loves women, he loves drinking beer and hanging out with his friends and he loves his family. Yeah he says things that make you shake your head, but he’s also honest to a fault and he’s a genuinely good guy. I really adored him. The farther along the book got, the more of his back story that was revealed, definitely showed that first impressions are not always correct. Blake is a loyal friend and he would give anyone the shirt off his back if they needed it.

As you’d expect there are plenty of laugh out loud moments. Blake’s irreverent humor is addicting for sure. There are some really sweet and emotional moments … Blake’s wedding gift to Wes and Jamie made me tear up and swoon at the same time. And of course, the sex is hot and steamy. I’ve got to be honest, I never really warmed up to Jess, though by the end I was rooting for hers and Blake’s HEA. She got on my nerves and it wasn’t until about 80% that I softened toward her. But that didn’t really take away from my enjoyment of Good Boy at all. There is plenty to love here. And for fans of HIM and US … the wedding is everything you’ve been wanting, trust me. I was really impressed with how Sarina and Elle kept Wes and Jamie present throughout the book, but never let them take over. This is very much a Blake and Jess book.

All in all, if you haven’t read HIM and US (and OMG, if you haven’t why the hell not?!) you can start here with no problem and enjoy Blake and Jess just fine. I’m really looking forward to the next book and hoping that Wes, Jamie, and Blake all continue to be present. I mean it’s Blake, I’m not sure Sarina and Elle could keep him away even if they wanted to!

Erin

Erin is a book addict! She loves books of all kinds, but her favorites are Contemporary Romance or YA (and she reads both boy/boy AND boy/girl, sometimes even girl/girl!) She's been reading since she could hold a book in her hands and doesn't see that changing any time soon. Give her a Coke, kick ass tunes from her favorite playlists, and a book, and she's in reading heaven.

She's a Texan, though she drinks her tea plain and NOT sweet. She loves cheesecake, strawberry limeade's from Sonic and her favorite color is purple. In her books, she loves an HEA, but she never minds if the road is rough to get there, as long as the reward is worth the struggle.

Latest posts by Erin (see all)

    Report Card
    Cover
    Characters
    Plot
    Writing
    Steam
    Overall: 4

    Check Also

    Little Dancer Brianna Hale Blog Tour

    {Tour} Little Dancer by Brianna Hale (with Review, Excerpt, and Giveaway)

    A fast paced read with emotional depth and a dash of romance, Little Dancer by Brianna Hale surprised us.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    CommentLuv badge