{Review} Delayed Penalty by Sophia Henry

{Review} Delayed Penalty by Sophia HenryDelayed Penalty by Sophia Henry
Series: Pilots Hockey #1
Published by Flirt on September 1, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Character(s): Athletes/Coaches, Hockey Players
Pages: 252
Goodreads  Buy the Book

She closed her heart long ago. He just wants to open her mind. For fans of Toni Aleo and Sawyer Bennett, the debut of Sophia Henry’s red-hot Detroit Pilots series introduces a hockey team full of complicated men who fight for love.

Auden Berezin is used to losing people: her father, her mother, her first love. Now, just when she believes those childhood wounds are finally healing, she loses something else: the soccer scholarship that was her ticket to college. Scrambling to earn tuition money, she’s relieved to find a gig translating for a Russian minor-league hockey player—until she realizes that he’s the same dangerously sexy jerk who propositioned her at the bar the night before.

Equal parts muscle and scar tissue, Aleksandr Varenkov knows about trauma. Maybe that’s what draws him to Auden. He also lost his family too young, and he channeled the pain into his passions: first hockey, then vodka and women. But all that seems to just melt away the instant he kisses Auden and feels a jolt of desire as sudden and surprising as a hard check on the ice.

After everything she’s been through, Auden can’t bring herself to trust any man, let alone a hot-headed puck jockey with a bad reputation. Aleksandr just hopes she’ll give him a chance—long enough to prove he’s finally met the one who makes him want to change.


Kassiah: Auden is hired to translate for Russian hockey player Aleksander Varenkov. (Metaphorical) sparks fly and the two find themselves in a not-so-professional relationship. But they both have pasts that could keep them from being all-in.

Ever since reading Elle Kennedy’s Off-Campus Series and Sawyer Bennett’s Cold Fury Hockey Series, I’ve become somewhat obsessed with reading hot hockey player stories. I mean, really. *fans self*

But unfortunately, I just could not get into this story. I don’t know what the issue was, but I didn’t connect with the characters, and I didn’t really like the storyline very much. There wasn’t much chemistry, and I could take or leave the romance. I couldn’t even keep up with who the characters were and I’m pretty sure I won’t read the rest of the books in this series.

With lack of chemistry and forgettable characters, Delayed Penalty is a book you can delay reading.

Kassiah

Co-Founder/Joint Editor-In-Chief at Pretty Sassy Cool
This is my bio. It will be updated whenever Meg writes one for me.
Report Card
Cover
Characters
Plot
Writing
Steam
Overall: 2

Check Also

Fatal Threat by Marie Force

{Tour} Fatal Threat by Marie Force (with Interview, Review, + Giveaway)

If you're into sexy romantic suspense that will keep you on the edge of your seat right up to the very end, you have to check out Marie Force's Fatal Threat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge