{Review} Courted by Jennifer Chance (with Giveaway)

Courted Jennifer Chance

{Review} Courted by Jennifer Chance (with Giveaway)Courted by Jennifer Chance
Published by Elewyn Publishing on October 6, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult
Character(s): Royalty
Pages: 227
Goodreads  Buy the Book

Aspiring concert violist Emmaline Aurora Grace Andrews is torn between her love of family and her love of music. A year ago, she deferred entering a prestigious graduate program to help her parents recover from a devastating accident. Now the deferment is expiring, but her parents still need her. Worse, every time she plays her audition piece, she mangles it. Is it too late to be the musician she'd always dreamed of? Should she even try?

Determined to get clarity, Emmaline accepts a friend's offer for a whirlwind European vacation. First Stop: a real live fantasy kingdom--the perfect place to sort wishes from reality.

Prince Kristos Andris was a respected captain in his nation's military... Was. In the wake of the tragic death of his elder brother, he's managed to avoid his duties as the new Crown Prince of Garronia for months. But now he must accept his responsibilities and leave his troops behind. Outraged at the restrictions of his new royal position, he'll do anything for one last adventure. So when opportunity suddenly lands in his arms in the form of a dreamy-eyed American girl, he embraces it (and her) for all he's worth. What's the harm in a quick fling, after all? It won't change what he knows he must do...

Only this is Garronia in the summertime, where passion has a way of ruining even the most sensible of plans.

Kassiah: If you’re like me, you spent a lot of your childhood pretending to be a princess. So that’s one of the reasons I couldn’t wait to jump on the blog tour for Courted by Jennifer Chance.

Emmaline has been taking care of her sick parents when she is urged to go study abroad. While at a European beach, she’s almost swept away at sea and is rescued by hottie Kristos, who it turns out is a prince. They’re instantly smitten–I’m talking instantly and begin a whirlwind romance, facing the trials you’d expect from a couple made up of royalty and a (foreign) commoner.

This book was cute, but it was missing something for me. I really enjoyed the pacing of the story and Chance’s writing, but I felt that the characters lacked substance. This really was a whirlwind, and there was so much awesome fairytale-esque stuff happening–palaces and balls and beautiful dresses. Even though I loved that this story was told in dual POV, I just felt like I didn’t really know anyone when it was all said and done.

Still, it’s a fun, quick read and is perfect for fans of The Prince and Me and pretty much every fan of Disney princesses. I’ll definitely be reading the next book in the series, even if it’s just to get more of Kristos and Em’s HEA.

Kassiah

Co-Founder/Joint Editor-In-Chief at Pretty Sassy Cool
This is my bio. It will be updated whenever Meg writes one for me.
Report Card
Cover
Characters
Plot
Writing
Steam
Overall: 3.5

***About Jennifer Chance***

Author Jennifer ChanceJennifer Chance is the award-winning author of the new adult Rule Breakers series as well as the modern royals Gowns & Crowns series. A lover of books, romance, and happily-ever-afters, she lives and writes in Ohio. In addition to her work in romance, she is also Jenn Stark, urban fantasy author of the Immortal Vegas series, and Jennifer McGowan, YA author of the Elizabethan spy series The Maids of Honor. She is truly NOT trying to become 27 Jennifers, but it’s getting a little dicey.

Find Jennifer Here: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

***GIVEAWAY***

Jennifer is offering up some fabulous prizes during her Courted Virtual Tour event. One (1) lucky grand prize winner will receive a $25 Gift Card for Amazon or B&N (winner’s choice) and two (2) runner-ups will win an eBook copy of Rock It, book #1 in Jennifer’s Rule Breakers series! To enter, simply fill out the Rafflecopter below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Good luck and don’t forget to check out the other stops on the blog tour for Courted by Jennifer Chance!

Check Also

Oversight by Santino Hassell

{Review} Oversight by Santino Hassell

Complex, gripping, and sexy as hell, Oversight by Santino Hassell will rock your socks off.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge