{Excerpt} First Time with a Highlander by Gwyn Cready (with Giveaway)

Time-traveling highlander? Yes, please. We’re so excited to present an exclusive excerpt of First Time with a Highlander, the second book in Gwyn Cready’s amazing Sirens of the Scottish Borderlands Series. We’ve got a giveaway for you, too! First, here’s what you need to know about the book:

***About the Book***


{Excerpt} First Time with a Highlander by Gwyn Cready (with Giveaway)First Time with a Highlander by Gwyn Cready
Series: Sirens of the Scottish Borderlands #2
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on October 6, 2015
Genres: Historical Romance, Science Fiction, Time Travel
Pages: 384
Goodreads  Buy the Book

Second in a new Scottish time travel romance series perfect for readers of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander...

Serabeth’s no-good fiancé is dead, and she needs a husband fast, or she’ll be ruined. Her indignant and handsome captive will do just fine, if she can keep her mind focused on the business at hand...

Gerard is a love-'em-and-leave-'em ad exec who opens the door to a wild party in 21st century New York and wakes up in 18th century Edinburgh with a hangover and a beautiful, disinterested new “wife” who says he has “served his purpose.”

What the kilt?

***EXCERPT***


When I write a romance novel, I like to get my characters working on solving a problem as soon as I can in the story. Usually, one person really wants the problem solved, and the other person is thrown into the effort against his/her will. In this particular excerpt, neither the hero nor the heroine really want the problem to be solved because solving it means the hero will be returned to his own time and at this point in the story—somewhere in the early middle—they’ve already begun to figure out that they’re attracted to one another.

We’re in Gerard’s head here. Gerard is my ad man hero from the twenty-first century, and Serafina is my heroine, the down-on-her-luck eighteenth-century owner of a small shipping concern. Serafina has just explained to her spell-caster friend, Undine, from whom she, er, “borrowed” magical herbs to summon a man to help her claim some cargo, a man who turned out to be Gerard, and Undine has ordered them to figure out what occurred in the preceding night, a night Serafina and Gerard can only remember parts of after they woke up in bed together. Some of the memories involve cargo, but some are a little more, shall we say, adult-oriented. Serafina is also aware that when Gerard woke up, he thought he was still with the woman he’d gone to bed with in the twenty-first century. What Serafina doesn’t know is the woman was too drunk to even stand, and that Gerard had carried her to the bed in his hotel room so that she could sleep.

Serafina arched a brow. “You can look out for me?”

“I can.”

The carriage burst into motion, jostling her hard enough to knock another curl loose. She was sitting across from him, and with the sun on her face, he could see a spray of very fine freckles across the bridge of her nose, like caramel stars in a vanilla sky. He had a sudden desire to kiss them.

“And how might you do that?” she asked. “You dinna have a sword or a pistol or even a knife.”

“I’m actually pretty smart. I can finesse just about anything I put my mind to.”

Keep Reading the Excerpt for First Time with a Highlander

Keep Reading the Excerpt for First Time with a Highlander

She made a small snort. But her amusement fell away when his gaze didn’t waver.

“I hope for your sake we dinna have to test it,” she said, cutting her attention to the street beyond the window.

Or for yours. The horses clopped crisply down the Royal Mile and turned into a neighborhood consider¬ably less cheerful than the one they had left. “At some point, we need to hammer out the events of the last twelve hours, do we not?”

“Aye, we do,” she said, lips tight as she kept her attention fixed on the road.

“That is, unless you’re dragging your feet to keep me here longer? In that case—”

“Eleven o’clock,” she said, “you’re in bed, not alone, drinking Kerr whiskey, counting the shillings that come with your partnership. You have not offered your bedmate whiskey. How do I know this? She is not here. Why have you not? Because you’re cheap? Because you’re selfish? Let’s call it a misunder¬standing and let it pass.”

“Did you even consider the fact she might not drink whiskey?”

“Doesn’t she?”

He thought of the woman’s slow descent to the floor of the elevator and hesitated.

Serafina rolled her eyes. “Eleven o’clock. I am drunk and, unfortunately, getting drunker. You arrive. I am hard asleep. What happened?”

Whoa. Why do you presume you’re asleep?”

“Because I canna remember a thing after closing my eyes.”

“You cannot remember anything after drinking your third glass of whiskey. That, my friend, is entirely different.”

Her lips, full and round, compressed into a pink line.

“And in any case,” he went on, “you do remember something because you said I was surprised when you told me it was 1706.”

“‘Surprised’ was not the word I used. You—”

“There’s no need to lower ourselves to character attacks,” he said. “Suffice it to say, I was surprised and you remembered that fact.”

“Just as you remembered the men from the docks.”

“I think we need to be honest here. We need a complete list. Some of the things we did may be of a somewhat personal nature,” he said, thinking of the memory of her hair splayed across that pillow, “but in the interest of expediency, we need to simply say them and be done with it.”

“I agree.”

“Good. So, on three, okay. One. Two. Three…”

Neither said a word.

***About Gwyn Cready***

Author Gwyn CreadyGwyn Cready is a RITA Award-winning romance novelist. She’s been called “the master of time travel romance.” She lives in Pittsburgh.

Find Gwyn Here: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

***GIVEAWAY***

Win a copy of First Time with a Highlander!

To enter, just leave us a comment and let us know that you’d love to win this book. US only

Check Also

Moonlighter Sarina Bowen Cover Reveal

{Cover Reveal} Moonlighter by Sarina Bowen (with Giveaway)

We're revealing the cover of MOONLIGHTER, the first book in the brand new Company Series by our favorite Sarina Bowen!

One comment

  1. Thanks for the opportunity to win this book i really love the cover

    Happy holidays

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.