{Review} Rush by Gina Gordon (with Excerpt and Giveaway)

Rush Gina Gordon

We really love Gina Gordon–her Madewood Brothers Series is freaking hot, and we were excited to check out her latest title, Rush. Though some things about it rubbed us the wrong way (no pun intended), we really liked this book, especially Max, and we’re thrilled to be participating in the blog tour. We’ve got a great giveaway and an excerpt to share with you , as well as our thoughts on the book. First, let’s tell you all about Rush by Gina Gordon:

{Review} Rush by Gina Gordon (with Excerpt and Giveaway)Rush by Gina Gordon
Also by this author: Recipe for Attraction, Recipe for Satisfaction, Recipe for Temptation
Published by LoveSwept on May 12, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 302
Goodreads  Buy the Book

In this edgy, sizzling romance for fans of Monica Murphy and Abbi Glines, a bad boy shows a straitlaced law student how to slow down and savor the good things.

Everly Parker is about to graduate from law school, always busy, and can’t stop rushing through life. Her late grandmother left her a bucket list of meaningful, can’t-miss experiences, but she hasn’t completed a single one. Then searing-hot Max Levin bursts into her world. As a casting director for a porn production company, Max is loaded, cocky, and all wrong for Everly. Still, she’s tempted enough to cross the first item off her list: Go out with someone you’d never give the time of day.

Inheriting a porn empire isn’t every guy’s dream (well, actually, it probably is), but Max isn’t complaining. It’s just that until he meets Everly, he has no idea what he’s been missing. As the pressure mounts to take over the family business, Max can’t help wondering what would happen if he chose Everly instead. So far, his life has been a wild ride, but only Everly promises the greatest rush of all: love.

Kassiah: Max Levin, the son of a porn mogul, is set to inherit his parents’ empire. He’s responsible for a lot of the success of his company, but finds himself unsatisfied with life when he sees Everly for the first time.

She was the exact opposite of the women I saw on a daily basis. She was as plain as vanilla ice cream, but something grabbed me–grabbed my cock, was more like it.

He’s immediately enamored with her and can’t get her out of his head. He knows that she’s not used to the world he lives in and tries to show her that he’s more than just the label everyone seems to put on him.

Everly Parker is set to graduate from law school in just a few months, following the perfect path that her overbearing parents have set for her. She wants to live her own life but doesn’t really know how to do that. Max sweeps her off her feet and the pair start a friendship–even though it’s clear they both want more. The more time they spend together, the more they like each other, but Everly can’t see past his career.

If Everly Parker, the nice girl who actually took the time to get to know me thought I was that guy, then who was I kidding? No one would ever think differently.

I might as well give her what she wanted.

Will these two see past the labels they’ve put on each other and give in to fate?

There were lots of things that I liked about this book, and Max is at the top of that list. He was so awesome and it was great to see the way his character developed throughout the story. He was a man truly in search of himself and what it meant to be him–not just his parents’ son, and I liked him a lot. He was sweet and funny and a hot dirty talker.

I loved the relationship between Max and his best friend, Ben.

“But I do believe in you.” He pointed at me. “You’re my brother, and whatever you decide, wherever you go, I’m behind you.”

I also really loved Max’s dad and the way he supported his son no matter what. I thought it was interesting that Max’s father loved him unconditionally while it was Everly’s parents who wanted her to tow the line and expressed their distaste with everything about her life. This is just one example of how great Gordon’s writing was–she had amazingly well-developed characters in an unpredictable story.

Now what I didn’t like. Mainly, Everly. I could not get behind this girl. She was bitchy. judgmental, and condescending to him. This isn’t a story about a girl who falls in love with a boy to be devastated when she later finds out he runs a porn empire. Everly knew about Max’s career from the moment they met–and she’s a total bitch about it. I also didn’t like that she constantly projected her vulnerability onto him. He was a good guy with her from the start and never, ever made her feel like she wasn’t enough for him. She doesn’t build him up at all, and that makes me want someone better for him.

I had been hearing that all my life. How great I was. At everything. Until I’d met Everly, I had believed it.

I am usually all for the HEA, but this time, I honestly would have been fine–cheering for Max, even–if he had met someone else and never spoke to this girl again. He deserves better.

Also, I’m not gonna lie, there was a twist in this story that made me want to flounce, but I’m glad I stuck with it. Rush is a standalone book, but I would definitely be interested in reading more about these characters, particularly Ben.

With a standup guy who’s about more than just being hot and a captivating storyline, Rush by Gina Gordon is a great choice for romance lovers who want a quick, fun read.

Kassiah

Co-Founder/Joint Editor-In-Chief at Pretty Sassy Cool
This is my bio. It will be updated whenever Meg writes one for me.
Report Card
Cover
Characters
Plot
Writing
Steam
Overall: 4

***EXCERPT***


A loud bang sounded to my right and I turned my attention to the aisle, where a sweet- looking girl blew a heavy breath out the side of her mouth. It caused her unkempt black hair to flutter around her face. She bent, reaching to pick up the stack of books that had fallen to the ground, giving a spectacular view of a tight, round bottom covered in black fabric.

Who knew yoga pants were so damn sexy? Hers were sloppily tucked into a pair of beige Uggs.

I scrambled from my seat and crouched beside her, picking up one of her books and holding it out. “You dropped something,” I said, my senses kicking up at the sweet scent surrounding me.

She snorted, a cute little laugh, and grabbed the book from my hand. “Sounds like something I would do.”

She finally looked up and her soft blue eyes locked on mine. Her lips were plump and naked. She didn’t need lipstick. They were the perfect shade of raspberry. Her pale skin was luminous and it took all of my willpower not to lean in and scent her, running my nose up her dainty neck. My cock twitched in my pants. An unexpected twitch. One I hadn’t felt upon first sight of a woman in a long damn time.

Getting rid of that book so soon might have been a bad idea. I needed it to cover the semi that had just popped up in my pants.

I did a quick survey of her body, which didn’t stand out, in yoga pants and a long-sleeved T-shirt. She was the exact opposite of the women I saw on a daily basis. She was as plain as vanilla ice cream, but something grabbed me—grabbed my cock, was more like it.

“I’m sorry to interrupt.” Her face knitted with guilt as her eyes settled on something behind me.

“We’re on an interview,” Stella said from the table.

This woman knew the escorts. Did that mean she, too, was . . . A grinned curved up at the side of my mouth. Oh, yeah, I could definitely see her making a lot of money playing the uptight librarian fantasy.

“At my favorite café?”


“Public space, and all,” Jade said with a shrug.


Smart girl. Just the kind of girl White Lace wanted.


When the last book had been picked up, the woman straightened, and I followed suit. She flipped her hair and when her sea-blue eyes locked on mine, I suddenly felt like I’d just run the New York Marathon. Winded, achy, but high on something I just couldn’t put my finger on.

“Thank goodness.” She struggled to gather the books against her chest. “I thought I
interrupted your dates.”


I struggled to lift my arm to help her, but it was caught on something invisible. Sort of like my tongue, which didn’t want to cooperate.


She shuffled away and placed her books on a table three down from where we sat.

When she returned, she eyed me with . . . disinterest.


“I’m Max Levin.” This time my arm cooperated. “Are you an associate of these lovely
ladies?”


She brought her hand up to cover her chest. “You think . . . Oh, no.” She laughed, a sweet little giggle that forced a smile to my face. “I’m not a . . .” A blush fell across her cheeks.

Innocent. Unassuming. With a little lip gloss, maybe . . . I shook off the thought. This girl wasn’t porn material. But for the first time in years, I actually wanted to test the merchandise to find out.

**About Gina Gordon**

When her dream of becoming a mafia princess didn’t pan out, Gina Gordon went after her second dream: becoming a writer. And she hasn’t looked back. A self-proclaimed happily-ever-after junkie and cupcake connoisseur, Gordon loves spinning contemporary tales of knee-bending first kisses, unconditional love, and super-hot sex. She lives in Milton, Ontario, with her husband and their lovable dog.

Find Gina Here: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

***GIVEAWAY***

Win a Loveswept Prize Pack

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Good luck and don’t forget to check out all of the other stops on the Rush by Gina Gordon blog tour!

Check Also

Little Dancer Brianna Hale Blog Tour

{Tour} Little Dancer by Brianna Hale (with Review, Excerpt, and Giveaway)

A fast paced read with emotional depth and a dash of romance, Little Dancer by Brianna Hale surprised us.

2 comments

  1. Tasty Book Tours

    Thank you for hosting RUSH!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge